Skip to main content

Videos & Streaming Media: Streaming Video Collections

Streaming Video Collections

The following collections have been licensed by the Library for use by current NAIT students, faculty, and staff. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that he or she used these products for individual, non-commercial educational or research purposes only. Recording, copying or downloading is not allowed. See the Copyright guide for full details regarding fair dealing and educational use.

Library streaming media collections:
In addition to using the library search tool to locate streaming media, library users can also search streaming media collections individually.  Streaming media from these databases require a NAIT username and password to watch off-campus.

Kanopy
A new on-demand streaming video service providing access to more than 26,000 films, including documentaries, educational and training films, as well as theatrical releases and feature films in a wide range of topics. Subject areas include: the Humanities, the Arts, Education, Business, Health, Sciences, and Media and Communications.

Recommended browsers for Kanopy videos are Chrome, Firefox or Safari (Mac).

Learn more about how to use Kanopy

Access Engineering
Instructional videos that explain and reinforce key engineering concepts.

Access Science
Videos, animations, and illustrations on current science and technology topics.

Films on Demand
A comprehensive collection of videos covering a variery of subject areas, including business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, science & mathematics, and technical education.

These videos are segmented into easy-to-use clips that can be embedded into Moodle courses, with transcripts available for all titles.  Advanced features include setting playlists and sharing videos. Access titles via the Library search tool on the library website.

Learn more about how to use Films On Demand

Lynda.com
Provides a library of videos and tutorials covering a wide range of technology, creative, and business skills. To access Lynda.com use the NAIT specific link http://nait.ca/lynda or, go to Lynda.com by logging in and selecting the Organization Login tab and entering the NAIT URL www.nait.ca, which will bring you to the NAIT authentication page.

Showing Films

As stipulated in the Copyright Act of Canada, a copyright holder has the exclusive right to show a work in public, or to authorize the showing of a work. These rights are known as Public Performance Rights. In most circumstances, anyone who is not the copyright holder must seek permission from the copyright holder before showing the work in public.

Through an exception in the Copyright Act, academic institutions may play videos in the classroom, without seeking permission, provided no fees are charged to the audience and the audience is primarily comprised of students of the academic institution. Please note that the copy used must have been legally obtained (meaning, it cannot have been illegally downloaded).  

This exception does not include showing a film at a student event or social function; in these cases, a separate entertainment license must be purchased. Licenses may be obtained through two leading Canadian PPR licensing agencies, Audio Cine Films (ACF) and Criterion Pictures. Each agency represents a number of studios; between the two, almost all of the major US and Canadian studios, production companies, and many independent producers (domestic and foreign) are represented. Any fees charged for a license must be covered by the department or individual requesting the license. 

Library Search Tool

Chat is loading...

Library Contacts