Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources: Find OERs

Using this Guide

This guide provides links to a wide variety of resources, organized by type, that fall under this definition. Please read the terms of use for all the resources listed, and abide by the conditions outlined by the author(s).

For more information on open intellectual property licensing, the public domain, and copyright, please visit the links below:

General

These websites provide open content in a variety of formats, including but not limited to images, textbooks, and videos. Although many of these sites would also fit under two or more of the categories in this guide, they have been placed under an umbrella "general" category here instead.

Creative Commons Search

Lists and searches websites providing images, music, video, and text that use Creative Commons licensing

Internet Archive

Provides access to downloadable video, audio, text & multimedia in the public domain

Wikimedia Commons

A repository of public domain and freely licensed images and videos

Europeana

Millions of digitized works from Europe's galleries, archives, museums, and libraries. Digitized objects include images, texts, sounds, and videos. Includes a powerful seach engine that allows users to sort by copyright and by "can I use it."

OER Commons

Search, browse, or create Open Educational Resources. 

SkillCommons

A repository of instructional and program support materials developed under the United States Department of Labor's TAACCCT Grant Program, which seeks to create content for two-year programs. Content developed through this grant must be licensed under a Creative Commons license. Material can be browsed by institution, industry, credential type, and material type.

OpenCulture

A content aggregator for open educational media. Includes links to collections of films, online courses, audiobooks, textbooks and ebooks.

Khan Academy

A library of practice exercises and instructional videos on subjects including, but not limited to, math, science, computer programming, history, art history, and economics. The Khan Academy has also partnered with institutions such as NASA, The Museum of Modern Art, The California Academy of Sciences, and MIT.

Books

Open Textbook Library

University of Minnesota's catalog of free, open textbooks covering a variety of core subjects. Includes faculty reviews of texts to assist in judging quality.

BCcampus Open Textbooks

A curated collection of open textbooks from the top 40 subject areas in BC higher education. Includes reviews from BC post-secondary faculty members.

OpenStax College

A nonprofit connected with Rice University in Houston. Produces peer-reviewed digital textbooks for free, and print versions for up to $55.

Google Books

Provides full-text access to books that are out of copyright, as well as previews of in-copyright, in-print books.

Internet Archive

Downloadable video, audio, and texts in the public domain and with Creative Commons licenses.

Project Gutenberg

Access to more than 34,000 full-text eBooks available in the public domain.

Images

Flickr

Users can choose to limit searches to Creative Commons licensed images and videos.

Google Advanced Image Search

Use the "Usage Rights" option to search for copyright-free materials.

Images Canada

Images from the collections of participating archives, libraries, museums and universities across Canada, free to use for educational purposes.

morgueFile

A public archive containing free images for use in creative work

Foter

Users can search and browse this large database of free, Creative Commons-licensed stock photos.

LACMA

Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)’s searchable database of more than 20,000 high-resolution, downloadable images, available in the public domain. When doing a search, you can choose to limit to “only results with unrestricted images.”

Journal Articles

BioMed Central

Open access biomedicine journals

Directory of Open Access Journals

An extensive directory of scholarly open access journals from around the world.

Free Medical Journals

Provides links to dozens of open access medical journals.

Public Library of Science (PLoS)

A range of open access science journals. Subject areas include biology, medicine, clinical trials and genetics.

PubMed Central Open Access Journals

Videos

​​YouTube

After logging on, users can search for videos tagged with the Creative Commons Attribution license in the Video Editor. These videos are available to edit, remix, or modify.

Vimeo

Users can browse and search within sets of videos that have the Creative Commons license.

National Film Board of Canada

Documentaries, animation, and other films by the NFB, which can be streamed free of charge. 

Sounds

ccMixter

A community music site that features music licensed under Creative Commons and allows users to remix, sample, and reuse music.

Jamendo

Contains music licensed under Creative Commons

Freesound

A large, user-uploaded database of Creative Commons licensed sounds, including field recordings, samples, and sound effects.

SoundCloud

A large, user-uploaded database of music and sound, including a Creative Commons-licensed section. Users can search for Creative Commons tracks by genre, duration, BPM, and release date.

Theses, Dissertations, Conference Papers

Canadian Institutional Repositories

Links to institutional repositories maintained by Canadian universities containing theses, dissertations, conference papers, and research articles.

Directory of Open Access Repositories

A directory of repositories worldwide that house open access research materials including journal articles, pre-prints, archival documents, conference papers and proceedings.

OAIster

A catalogue of open access resources from repositories around the world.

Synergies: Canada's SSH Research Infrastructure

An index of journal articles, theses, conference papers and books in the social sciences and humanities published in Canada.

Contact Us

Have a suggestion for this list? Questions? Contact Amanda Derksen.

If you're using program-specific OERs and would like to add them to your Program Guide, use our Subject Librarian contact page to find your friendly neighborhood librarian.