Skip to main content

RefWorks Citation Tool: Home

Access RefWorks

RefWorks is an online resource licensed by NAIT to help you create, store, and organize your citations. It will also generate a reference list in the citation style of your choice.

The first time you use RefWorks you will need to create an account. Use this link to create your new account and to access an existing RefWorks account:
Access RefWorks 

Note: before getting through to the RefWorks page you may be prompted to login with your NAIT ID and password.

Learn to Use RefWorks in 20 Minutes

Organizing with folders

Use folders within RefWorks to organize your citations by project or assignment. Using folders will help you keep your references organized as well as make it simpler to generate your final reference list.
Follow these steps:

  1. Click the New Folder button.
  2. Enter your New Folder name—for example, BTE300; click Create.
  3. Your new folder will be visible on the right-hand side of the screen in the list of Folders.

Note: Your last created or exported citation(s) will be always be added to the Last Imported Folder until you opt to move them into a different folder.

Exporting References into RefWorks

Most library databases allow you to export references directly into RefWorks. Each databases exports slightly differently, so you will need to look for the export feature in each database.

In general, follow these steps to add references to your RefWorks folders:

  1. At the article page, click the Export icon or link.
     
  2. You will be prompted to export your citation into RefWorks. Click save or export.
     
  3. The RefWorks login page should open in a separate window or tab. Make sure you do not have pop-ups blocked in your Web browser.
     
  4. In RefWorks, click View Last Imported Folder. Your imported citations will open.
     
  5. Click and drag your citation from the Last Imported Folder into the folder of your choice.

Generating a reference list

You can create a bibliography, works-cited list or reference list from your RefWorks account.

  1. Choose the folder of citations you want to include in your bibliography.
     
  2. Click Create Bibliography.
     
  3. Select the Output Style you need (e.g., APA) from the drop-down menu.
     
  4. Select the File Type you want (e.g., Word for Windows).
     
  5. Click Create Bibliography.

Note: Always double check your reference list for accuracy and make any necessary edits!

Getting help

RefWorks has a very detailed collection of help documents.

Email us with specific troubles or questions: library@nait.ca